The Buildings of

Chestnut Square Historic Village




1854 Faires House

Known as the Oldest House in McKinney, the Greek Revival Faires residence was built on Tennessee Street. 
Mr. Faires, a blacksmith by trade, came to Texas from Tennessee. The “dog trot” style house boasts the original
front door made by Mr. Faires himself. When the home was moved to Chestnut Square, 2 civil war era bullets were
bullets were discovered lodged in the foundation posts.




1863 "Two Bit" Taylor Inn

The Armsted Taylor house was purchased for $340 in 1868. Located on Chestnut Streenear the Jockey Lot,
drummers (salesmen) were given a bed for the night, a hot breakfasand had their clothes laundered for 25 Cents (2 bits).
The Taylors adult daughter Jennihad her own separate quarters, where she lived and conducted her sewing business.




1870 Dulaney Cottage (Indigenous to Chestnut Square)

The Cottage, home to Dr. Joseph and Lucy Ann Field Dulaney, originally sat on the corner of Chestnuand Anthony
Streets. Dr. Dulaney was a Civil War surgeon who practiced medicine in McKinney and iTennesseehis home state.
Dr. Dulaney left Lucy with 3 small children when he died of pneumoniin 1877, one of whom also died of pneumonia, in 1883.





1870 Johnson House (Indigenous to Chestnut Square)

Captain John Johnson bought this Victorian home with Italianate trims in 1878, where he and Polly raised 13 children.
Captain Johnson served as a State Senator and legislator. His great nephew and McKinneyite Bobby Younger was a WWII
herwhose plane was shot down in 1944.  A room in the house displays a tribute tBobbys service. In 2015 a crash site 
wadiscovered, and Bobbys remains were identified along with most of his crew. On June 27, 201they were laid to
rest iArlington National Cemetery and memorialized at McKinneys Veterans Park.





J.B. Wilmeth One Room Schoolhouse

A reproduction of the 1892 one room schoolhouse, the building features separate front doors for girls and boysChildren
typically went to school twice a day, breaking to go home for farm chores. The Wilmeths operated the first freschool in
McKinney, first in their home and then in the schoolhouse until 1922.





1908 Foote Baptist Church (The Chapel at Chestnut Square)

A turn of the century white clapboard chapel, the church was moved to Chestnut Square from Proper, TX, a community
near the current Virginia Parkway and Stonebridge Drive intersection, in 1994. The transport began at 4:30 in the morning
and took 14 hours to accomplish. The Chapel boasts the original bell in the bell tower, and holds 150 guestfor a
weddingmemorial, or church service.





1916 Dulaney House (Indigenous to Chestnut Square)

Built by John Field for his widowed sister Lucy Field Dulaney and her 2 children, this stately Prairie style home was builat
the corner of Chestnut and Anthony Street, after the cottage was moved to the less prestigious lot next doorThe widowed
Mr. Field planned to live with Lucy, his niece and nephew, however he died just a month before the house was complete.





1918 Brimer Anderson Grocery (Dixie's Store)

Originally on Lee Street near Howell and Graves Streets, Mr. Brimer served local farmers by filling their orders while they
did other business in town. His store was also known as a place to catch up on local news (gossip). When his daughter
Dixie took over the store, she treated children with good report cards and paddled the ones who acted up! The store ithe
home of Doc & Clydes Ice Cream Freezer Museum, the largest collection in the world (Guinness Book of World Records).




1920 Bevel House

An Arts and Crafts bungalow, the house features wide porches and typical architectural detailing. The Bevel family lived
ithe house until 1975, then a 2007 fire rendered the home uninhabitable by the owners at the time. It was then 
purchaseby the Guild, and completely preserved and renovated for use as a reception and event space.